TRR EVENTS

 May 5-31PRESS RELEASE: The Romance Reviews Launches INSIDE ROMANCE, a Romance Bookstore

 Jul 3-31June 2017 Ezine Issue
Login




Forgot your password? Sign up for a new account

They're the key to both her heart & to reversing the evil spell that poisons the Hollow.



A virgin hero & the mature courtesan who steals his heart; Special PreOrder 99¢ Thru 9/30



Forced to Trade Silks for a Scrub Brush! Can Katherine rise again to reclaim Jonas' love?



Forbidden fruit is always sweeter...Start this bestselling series FREE!



As she discovers the true power of freedom, he discovers he's lost his heart.



Enter a world of spine-tingling peril and sizzling chemistry! Series starter price 99¢!



Dark, disturbing, yet gripping and riveting. 1st book of the #1 bestselling Thalia series!



A strange encounter. A night of extraordinary passion. Resulting in His Eternal Promise.



Powerful kings. Dirty-talking princes. Insatiable dukes.



Sizzling Suspense, Swirl of Supernatural, Spark of Romance (Chanticleer Review~ Best Book)



Secrets, Lies & Revelations by Pamela L. Todd (Romance - Top Pick)



Thicker Than Blood by Anne Marie Citro (Romance - Top Pick)



Erotic Experiments by Katie Allen (Erotic - Top Pick)



Before the Dawn by Cynthia Eden (Romance - Top Pick)



Knights of Stone: Mason by Lisa Carlisle (Romance - Top Pick)



Twenty-One Nights by Ariel Atwell (Erotic - Top Pick)



Jungle Rapture by M.A. Jewell (Erotic - Top Pick)



The Duchess Deal by Tessa Dare (Romance - Top Pick)



Over the Ivy Wall by Rosa Sophia (Romance - Top Pick)



A Momentary Marriage by Candace Camp (Romance - Top Pick)









Click the button for the HTML codes

Love Bleeds
Author: Maggie James
Publisher: Amazon

Release Date: March 2011
ISBN: 0615486002

Book 1 of Only After Dark
Book Genre: Paranormal Romance

Buy this book from:




Love Bleeds

[SUMMARY] [REVIEWS] [COMMENTS] [INTERVIEW] [VIDEO]
OFFICIAL REVIEW
169 people found the following review helpful

Book Reviewed by Bridget (reviewer)

[ Review Posted: Jun 08, 2011 ] - See all my reviews
Dark, sinfully seductive and utterly ruthless, get ready for a new breed of vampire in this promising new series!

Katarina Renót, a literature and mythology professor, is taking her first real vacation after what feels like a lifetime of hard work. Taking a sabbatical from the London University where she teaches, she and her best friend Nina embark on an adventure to Dublin, eager to see the sights and take in the well-advertised nightlife. And after a single visit to the notorious ‘Graphica', Kat knows that all that advertising was nothing compared to the real deal.

It wasn't enough that she ran into Joe, the club's co-owner, and lead singer of the headline band, who happens also to be the most devastatingly handsome and mysterious man that Kat has ever encountered. On top of that, Nina is immediately captivated by Philip, the band's tortured blonde guitarist, to the point where she is incapable of being anywhere but near him.

Kat cannot bring herself to admit to the existence of creatures that stalk the night in search of blood, but she is certain that there is something in each of these men that is not quite…human. And as her attraction to Joe grows, it would appear the danger around her is increasing, until she finds herself caught in the middle of a blood feud, and forced to face the possibility that the world is indeed a much darker place than she had ever dreamed.

Joe is proud, arrogant and cold, having lost everything in a war with the evil master Malachi. Now he is simply and absolutely accustomed to getting whatever he wants, whenever he wants, to help him forget all the things he can no longer have. So when he first sees the lovely young lady at the club, he is drawn as much to her determination to resist him as to her beauty—and her blood.

But his time is also devoted to saving Philip, a reluctant vampire who is tortured by his inner demons and consumed by his dreams of a young woman who he believes to be his only key to salvation. Is it fate that the woman of Philip's dreams is the best friend of the woman that Joe cannot forget? As the four pursue an intricate game of cat-and-mouse, Joe's past inexorably closes down on them, bringing them all to the brink of a war that will pit Joe against an ancient evil to save the woman he has grown to love.

I have to say that some parts of the story rubbed me the wrong way when I first encountered them, but on second reading, I can understand and respect why they were the way they were. These are not cuddly vampires by any stretch of the imagination, and they often acted like the utterly amoral beings that they are. In some senses, it was nice to see my favorite breed of immortals return to the cold and usually ruthless beings that they have been for so long and move away from the angst and the cashmere sweaters and the simpering.

These vampires are creatures of blood and rage and passion and finding their soft side—that human part of them that could still feel love—was sometimes very difficult, though when their pasts are explained, it's easy to understand why. I usually disagreed much more strongly with Kat and Nina's decisions than with their fanged counterparts. The motivations for their actions wasn't very clear and I wondered at times if their feelings were genuine or a result of ‘glamoring' by the vampires. Because I couldn't get in their heads and understand their feelings, it was tough to relate to them throughout the course of their adventures, which made the non-romantic scenes tricky. It was also sometimes a little difficult to tell whether we were in Kat's head or Nina's but it grew easier as the story progress. When the connections between the characters were made and their relationships to each other confirmed, the writing sped up—and heated up—and sparks began to fly.

So while I did have my misgivings, I think that there is great potential in this book. It's very firmly grounded in the best vampire literature, with some very well-placed references to Anne Rice's series—references to ‘the true death', the gorgeously gothic atmosphere, not to mention Philip himself, who could give Lestat's friend Louis a run for his money any night.

And Kat and Nina did remind me in a lot of ways of Mina and Lucy, respectively. Their reactions to their vampire seducers were certainly similar, with one girl hesitant, both in what her mind sees and her heart feels, and the other so completely spellbound she can't think straight and begins to lose herself in her lover. I liked noticing these little references and similarities, and it gave me a lot of faith in the future of the series.

The atmosphere of the book as well—the darkness of the book was tangible, and the constant promise of danger and violence made for a few really suspenseful scenes that were a treat to read. When they were together, the chemistry between the characters, especially between Joe and Kat, was spot on, and the power play between the vampires was an interesting side story. I'm interested in seeing how the storyline progresses, and hopeful that this is the promising start for a new kind of vampire series.
Was this review helpful to you?

Post Your Comments

If you wish to post a message, you need to sign in.


 
maggiejames (author)
Wow Bridget...what can I say besides Thank You!! I'm totally flattered by your awesome review. I'm thrilled that you enjoyed Love Bleeds and took the time to write such a wonderful review! Your eloquent words of praise and critique will keep this smile plastered on my face for days...lol.
I am honored to be included among your list of amazingly talented authors here at RR and just want to thank you again for the flattering review! I'll be sure to let you know when Book Two is released!
Have an awesome weekend Bridget, thanks for everything!
Best,
MAGGIE
[ Posted: 6 years ago ]
Please sign in to comment

  Bridget (reviewer)
Maggie, it was my pleasure--thanks so much for sharing such an interesting story and those fascinating vampires with us! I'm eagerly awaiting Book Two :)
[ Posted: 6 years ago ]



 
maggiejames (author)


5.0 out of 5 stars This book is HOT! Paranormal Romance you HAVE TO READ!, March 31, 2011
By Amy Fine (TN)
This review is from: Love Bleeds (Only After Dark Series -Book One) (Kindle Edition)
What can I say about this book?!!! It is so HOTTTT!!! I loved it! Couldn't put it down until I finished it and cannot wait for the next one in the series! This book is a perfect combination of rock 'n roll, vampires, lust, and action! The story takes you through Kat and Joe's rocky relationship and eventually giving into their lust and falling head over hills in love. Along the road, Kat has to deal with her best friend falling for a vampire, groupies trying to get her man, and an evil vampire cult trying to take them all out. Maggie James doesn't disappoint in this book. Highly recommended read!
[ Posted: 6 years ago ]
Please sign in to comment

  maggiejames (author)
Copied and posted from Love Bleeds page on Amazon.com
[ Posted: 6 years ago ]



 
maggiejames (author)
4.0 out of 5 stars Review: LOVE BLEEDS by Maggie James, March 30, 2011
By Readaholics Anonymous -
This review is from: Love Bleeds (Only After Dark Series -Book One) (Kindle Edition)
Sexy! Titillating! Seductive! LOVE BLEEDS explodes onto the paranormal scene with alluring and exhilarating characters! Ms. Maggie James brings in a fresh and unique take on vampires. Her writing style allows you hear all sides of the story, and then some. Joe and Kat's passion has the ability to ignite flames. This book is an exciting sample of what Maggie James will bring to the table in future books. Ms. James left me with the desire to hang out with Kat and Nina, and have a beer. I highly recommend this book if your looking for a paranormal romance.

Favorite Quote: "This fall from grace, I see your face. Your love was kind yet left me scarred and blind..." -Joe
[ Posted: 6 years ago ]
Please sign in to comment

  maggiejames (author)
Copied and posted from Love Bleeds page on Amazon.com
[ Posted: 6 years ago ]




3 full standalone series starters - FREE right now.



Can Kaysie have a summer romance with Troy and still remain true to Brian?



A journal leads her on the adventure of a lifetime...



Bk #1. Has their unanticipated meeting arrived at the perfect time?



A heart torn apart. Ethan's vigilante plan for justice gets a sexy wrinkle...



Can a good girl tame a bad boy?



Should Jamie trust his heart or watch the woman he loves walk away?Sweet with Heat Romance



The SEAL and the botanist come from different worlds, but one rescue links them together.



A treat for dog lovers! The true heroes save the day in 4 medieval romance adventures.



Sun, surf, sand and Alex--Katie was swept away!



One night changes everything, putting their friendship--and their love--on the line.



How do you woo a lady who despises you?



Bull Rider Series #1. When the season ends, who wins the real prize?



Intoxication can unleash the beast within a Fae.



The Heart Won't Forget wounds it's endured nor who inflicted them. And who nurtured it.



Malediction by Erzabet Bishop (Erotic - Top Pick)



Paddled By The Teacher by Ravenna Tate (Erotic - Top Pick)



Irrefutable by Ravenna Tate (Erotic - Top Pick)



Under his Protection by Doris O'Connor (Erotic - Top Pick)



Hero Undercover by Renee Rose, Annabel Joseph, Addison Cain (Erotic - Top Pick)



Secrets, Lies & Revelations by Pamela L. Todd (Romance - Top Pick)



Lyrics Heart & Soul by Anne Marie Citro (Erotic - Top Pick)



Claiming his Human by Doris O'Connor (Erotic - Top Pick)



Ryder by BJ Wane (Erotic - Top Pick)



Hunter by BJ Wane (Erotic - Top Pick)



A Momentary Marriage by Candace Camp (Romance - Top Pick)



Fatal Threat by Marie Force (Romance - Top Pick)



Silver Silence by Nalini Singh (Romance - Top Pick)



The Wrong Kind of Compatible by Kadie Scott (Romance - Top Pick)