TRR EVENTS

 May 5-31PRESS RELEASE: The Romance Reviews Launches INSIDE ROMANCE, a Romance Bookstore

 Jul 3-31June 2017 Ezine Issue
Login




Forgot your password? Sign up for a new account

Powerful kings. Dirty-talking princes. Insatiable dukes.



Forbidden fruit is always sweeter...Start this bestselling series FREE!



A strange encounter. A night of extraordinary passion. Resulting in His Eternal Promise.



Enter a world of spine-tingling peril and sizzling chemistry! Series starter price 99˘!



A virgin hero & the mature courtesan who steals his heart; Special PreOrder 99˘ Thru 9/30



Forced to Trade Silks for a Scrub Brush! Can Katherine rise again to reclaim Jonas' love?



As she discovers the true power of freedom, he discovers he's lost his heart.



Sizzling Suspense, Swirl of Supernatural, Spark of Romance (Chanticleer Review~ Best Book)



Dark, disturbing, yet gripping and riveting. 1st book of the #1 bestselling Thalia series!



They're the key to both her heart & to reversing the evil spell that poisons the Hollow.



Alpha's Temptation by Renee Rose, Lee Savino (Erotic - Top Pick)



The Man She Knew by Loree Lough (Romance - Top Pick)



Called Out by Jen Doyle (Romance - Top Pick)



The Sweetest Burn by Jeaniene Frost (Romance - Top Pick)



Crash by Danica Avet (Romance - Top Pick)



Delta: Redemption by Cristin Harber (Romance - Top Pick)



The Wright Mistake by K.A. Linde (Romance - Top Pick)



Knights of Stone: Mason by Lisa Carlisle (Romance - Top Pick)



Outlaw's Honor by B.J. Daniels (Romance - Top Pick)



Unyielding by Ravenna Tate (Erotic - Top Pick)









Click the button for the HTML codes

The Chameleon Goggles
Author: Maureen O. Betita
Publisher: Decadent Publishing
Release Date: October 2011
ISBN: 9781613331378

Book 2 of The Kraken's Caribbean
Book Genre: Romantic Science Fiction/Futuristic, Steampunk Romance

Buy this book from:




The Chameleon Goggles

[SUMMARY] [REVIEWS] [COMMENTS] [INTERVIEW] [VIDEO]
OFFICIAL REVIEW
145 people found the following review helpful

Book Reviewed by Rho (reviewer)

[ Review Posted: Dec 16, 2011 ] - See all my reviews
The world of the Kraken's Caribbean is fantastic and THE CHAMELEON GOGGLES, the latest release in the Kraken's Caribbean Trilogy, will immediately draw you into a world where the women are strong, the pirates are plenty, and you can travel to alternative worlds through mirrors. Interested yet? You should be.

Captain Jezebel has a past that she has tried to bury while making a new life for herself in Tortuga in the Kraken's Carribean, but when she's informed of a zeppelin sighting, she's afraid that her past has caught up with her. When strangers to Tortuga start showing up, everyone knows that something is up, but Jezebel remains tight-lipped, even to Mick, her lover and second-in-command.

Mick loves the sometimes infuriating Jezebel, even if she won't tell him about her past. But when she's kidnapped, he launches a campaign to get her back, not caring about the consequences it may have for other people. What he doesn't realize is that when Jezebel is forced to face her horrifying past, she may never look at anything the same way--including him.

THE CHAMELEON GOGGLES was unlike anything I've ever read before. With a combination of steampunk and pirates, it was full of adventure and fantasy, but also had an underlying love story.

Set in the world of the Kraken's Caribbean, I truly didn't know what I was in for with every page turn. There were female pirates who were strong and totally kick ass, then also we have witches, werewolves, vampires, and weird sea creatures with powers. The world was so unique, I honestly felt like I had to just go along for the ride because there was no way I could anticipate what was going to happen next.

Jezebel was a very interesting character. With her strength and fearless attitude, it was very interesting to see the immense vulnerability she also had. Mick, who didn't mind letting Jezebel take control on the ship or in the bedroom, seem to have the right amount of strength and surrender to make him a perfect match for her.

One of the things I loved about this book was that besides the amazing world and interesting characters, this was a love story featuring an older hero and heroine. Although aging is different in the Kraken's Caribbean, Mick and Jezebel are in their forties at least, and they definitely make it sexy. So, don't expect them to be staid and proper, their lovin' was rough and raw. Who knew being over forty could be so hot!

So, THE CHAMELEON GOGGLES was a fantastic read with great adventure, amazing fantasy, and awesome characters. This is book two in the Kraken's Caribbean Trilogy, and while I didn't feel I missed anything by starting here, I will have to go back and read book one as I am sure to be as thoroughly entertained as I was with this one!
Was this review helpful to you?

Post Your Comments

If you wish to post a message, you need to sign in.


This interview totally got me! I'm going to have to read this series now. Thank you!
[ Posted: 5 years ago ]
Please sign in to comment

Maureen O. Betita (author)
J9 - I write for you! Do let me know what you think! ;-)
[ Posted: 5 years ago ]

Maureen O. Betita (author)
Thank you so much for reading my book...and for the wonderful review. ;-) Really made my day!
[ Posted: 5 years ago ]



Really enjoyed the excerpt and it's like nothing I've read before. Can't wait to start this seies
[ Posted: 5 years ago ]
Please sign in to comment

Maureen O. Betita (author)
Thanks, Jolene! It's always hard to get just the right excerpt... ;-)
[ Posted: 5 years ago ]



Lovely review, thank you so much! Decadent has other romances featuring older couples, as well, check out Echoes at Dawn and Those Who Wait. Maureen's Kraken series is wild and fun and the over-fourty couple in the books are definitely hot!
[ Posted: 5 years ago ]
Please sign in to comment



A journal leads her on the adventure of a lifetime...



The SEAL and the botanist come from different worlds, but one rescue links them together.



A heart torn apart. Ethan's vigilante plan for justice gets a sexy wrinkle...



3 full standalone series starters - FREE right now.



Bk #1. Has their unanticipated meeting arrived at the perfect time?



Sun, surf, sand and Alex--Katie was swept away!



Bull Rider Series #1. When the season ends, who wins the real prize?



A treat for dog lovers! The true heroes save the day in 4 medieval romance adventures.



One night changes everything, putting their friendship--and their love--on the line.



How do you woo a lady who despises you?



Intoxication can unleash the beast within a Fae.



Can a good girl tame a bad boy?



Can Kaysie have a summer romance with Troy and still remain true to Brian?



Should Jamie trust his heart or watch the woman he loves walk away?Sweet with Heat Romance



The Heart Won't Forget wounds it's endured nor who inflicted them. And who nurtured it.



The Wright Mistake by K.A. Linde (Romance - Top Pick)



The Knight's Scarred Maiden by Nicole Locke (Romance - Top Pick)



Revelations of the BIG Mistakes by Roxy Harte (Erotic - Top Pick)



Dark Rooms by Sionna Fox (Erotic - Top Pick)



Claiming Ruby by Scarlett Sanderson (Erotic - Top Pick)



The Soul Mate by Kendall Ryan (Erotic - Top Pick)



Hero Undercover by Renee Rose, Annabel Joseph, Addison Cain (Erotic - Top Pick)



Wicked Intentions by J.T. Geissinger (Romance - Top Pick)



Sherlock Holmes and the Mystery of Einstein's Daughter by Tim Symonds (Romance - Top Pick)



Shared For The First Time by TL Reeve, Sarah Marsh, Nicole Morgan, McKinlay Thomson, Maia Dylan, Liz Adams, Jade Belfry, Elena Kincaid, Bella Settara (Erotic - Top Pick)



Spanked Into Submission by Ravenna Tate (Erotic - Top Pick)



Over the Ivy Wall by Rosa Sophia (Romance - Top Pick)



The Man She Knew by Loree Lough (Romance - Top Pick)



Captive of the Corsairs by Elizabeth Ellen Carter (Romance - Top Pick)