Blackbird Anthology

Dahlia Donovan
Blackbird Anthology
Click the button for the HTML codes

Dahlia Donovan
Release Date
September 2015
Book 6 of Blackbird
Paranormal Romance

When a group of lonely shifters came together during their service with the Royal marines, they never imagined the strong pack that would develop between them. Channeling their special operative training, they built a security firm with two alpha wolves at the head of a motley crew of shifters not known for playing well-together.

They've lived their lives as outcasts from their own individual species of shifters choosing to form a family with each other instead. Until Now. Follow the Blackbird pack as they fall victim to love one by one.

Can they guard their own hearts?

The Blackbird Anthology is the complete Blackbird series containing: Ivy, Natasha, Masquerade, Twelve Days and Under Fire. It also contains the newly released Lorcan.

Book Review by LiaL (reviewer)
Feb 07, 2016   [ OFFICIAL REVIEW ]
242 people found the following review helpful
The military brought them together. They formed a pack. They protect others and always stay loyal to each other. Watch the fun as they add mates to their lives.

All of the stories feature characters who work for the Blackbird Security Firm. The firm consists mostly of different types of shifters who met during the their military service and bonded into a pack. After they left the service, they joined together into the business. It is run by the two Alpha wolves, Stephen and Gareth, and includes their friends Darren, Josh and Elaine. There are also friends and family we meet as they all find their mates and their happy ever after.

This anthology includes books one thru six from the Blackbird series. It includes some longer stories including the story of Ivy, Natasha, and Alicia as well as some shorter stories featuring them and other characters from the series. It is many hours of reading material and most people will take days or weeks to finish it all. I am a fast reader and it took me several days of dedicated reading to finish it.

The first book, IVY, features the main character of the series. Ivy meets Stephen and Gareth during a terrorist attack at a department store during Christmas time. Ivy is a young widow and has found it hard to go on after losing her husband to cancer. When she is under attack, it is the Blackbird Security Firm that saves her. Stephen is the older, more cautious alpha wolf and Gareth is more impulsive and relies on instinct. They both appeal to her and make her feel desire again. Luckily, they come as a pair and want her to be their mate.

The first book does not have a lot of sexual contact among the mates and is more about the bond developing. Ivy has a sarcastic wit but underneath is very kind and loving. Stephen and Gareth are very supportive of her and give her plenty of time and space so she can become more comfortable with all the changes in her life. Ivy gets into lots of dangerous situations and she is lucky to have her own private security team. I had a little trouble with the alternative formatting the author uses for quotes and it made it difficult for me to follow along at times and determine who was the speaker as the dialogue is often sharp and fast among the characters. I noticed that in later books, it is not an issue. The author heavily uses British slang so be prepared to adjust to the terminology if you are not from that part of the world.

The second book, NATASHA, features Darren and Natasha who are fox shifters and have a second chance at love. They meet up again when an assignment brings them back into contact and it is not long before they are taunting and tormenting each other again. They do love bondage. This book is much more sexual than the first. There is a lot of action as they work to protect those they love and innocents caught in the net of the bad guy. I really enjoyed how the other characters support and protect one another.

MASQUERADE is the next story and it is a short story that switches back to Ivy and her wolves. Ivy has some fun leading them on a chase to convince her to marry them. She is still asserting her independence but has gotten closer to them physically. There is some fun in it as well as Ivy likes to make her mates a little jealous and insecure by relying on her admirer.

TWELVE DAYS is the next book and is longer in length. Ivy is organizing holiday fun and you get to see many of the characters finding love as the story switches from character to character. Ivy is very determined that all the people she cares about find love like she did. Elaine, the cougar shifter, gets more of a story in this one for the first time and I really would like to see her get her own book next. The move from story to story was seamless. This was my favorite of all the books as I got to spend time with so many of the characters I had only learned a little about before as part of the larger story.

ALICIA is the fifth book and gives the reader a chance to learn much more about Ivy's best friend as she grows closer to Josh. We learn a lot about Alicia's desire for independence and her family. Alicia's mother fled from a traditional Muslim family in Morocco and now there may be some danger from her family and their business interests. Josh is a sweet guy and really romances her. He is dedicated to keeping her safe and happy. This book filled in the gaps nicely about Alicia who just seemed like a party girl in the prior books.

LORCAN is the last book. It is a same sex romance featuring Lorcan who is a hare shifter and his lover Ronan. They have been together since teenagers but often kept their love secret from others. In this short story, they demand acceptance from those they love. It differs from the earlier stories in that it does not really involve the other characters as much and they are missed.

Dahlia Donovan's BLACKBIRD ANTHOLOGY is the complete set of stories featuring the characters from the Blackbird series. These shifters formed a strong bond while working together in the military. They are finding their mates and the happiness that goes along with that bond. They also have to deal with threats against those they love. The characters are well-developed and the dialogue is sharp and witty. Be prepared to learn some new vocabulary to follow along with all the fun. It features enough romance, humor, and action to meet the needs of most romance readers.
Was this review helpful to you?   


Follow The Romance Reviews
Send us an email: carole @
Ⓒ 2010 - 2021 The Romance Reviews. All rights reserved.
October 19, 2021 10:11 PM ( EST )