Unscrupulous

Avery Aster
Unscrupulous
Click the button for the HTML codes


TOP PICKS


Publisher
Self
Release Date
August 2015
ISBN
9781515341642
Series
Book 1 of The Manhattanites
Genre
BDSM, Contemporary Romance, Erotic Romance

SUMMARY
Revised Edition: August 2015

Fans of Alice Clayton, Karina Halle, Emma Chase, and Tara Sivec will enjoy this hilarious and naughty, full-length, stand-alone, cliffhanger free, m/f contemporary erotic romance novel from New York Times Bestselling Author Avery Aster.

At thirty-three, Warner Truman is one of the richest men on the planet, a spa mogul who buys and sells resorts at will. He holds powerful executives' careers in his well-groomed hands. Nothing is beyond Warner's reach…until he meets her.

Stunning, tantalizing and perverse, Taddy Brill captivates Warner's carnal desire like no woman he's ever met. A self-made millionaire, Taddy is tougher than steel, more brilliant than diamonds and, at twenty-seven, she's never depended on a man for anything…until she meets him.

The more Taddy plays with Warner's affections, driving him to erotic heights, the more she is confronted by a dark past. Before she can love him, Taddy must meet her worst fears head-on or risk losing it all, including herself.

Book Review by CozyReader (reviewer)
Oct 17, 2013   [ OFFICIAL REVIEW ]
125 people found the following review helpful
"Your passion for life, the confidence you have within you to move forward and the love you give to others and deserve, but never expect in return," quote by Kiki described Taddy to a "T".

Holy frickin' cow, just the beginning of this novel had me cracking up in laughter. Just reading what this couple did to each other was hilarious. Talk about family drama. Only, Taddy did not deserve what happened to her and how she was sent away to boarding school, but then again, why be around all that drama? I'm glad Taddy was able to become a very successful businesswoman but it's sad that her parents didn't try to reach out to her. What Taddy went through with her parents and how she was treated had me practically in tears.

Taddy Brill is an amazing young woman that will do anything for her friends even though sometimes these issues run deep into her money pocket. She may have everything in life but she is still a vulnerable woman with issues. No matter how hard she works, there is still something missing in her life.

Warner Truman is an interesting, gorgeous, sexy as hell of a man with loads of money. It's interesting how his character is introduced with the woman in his bed being entertained by his brother the night before. Only, it doesn't end there, as it seems his ex-fiancée doesn't get the meaning of "it's over" and believes that she still as a chance with him. I could not believe that even with a restraining order, Rielle wouldn't leave him alone.

Taddy has thrown herself into building her company, Brill, Inc, a public relations firm, the same as Warner with Truman Enterprises, a line of hotels and resorts. I don't blame either of them since they both have a sad story, but it's not good to bury yourself in so much work. It's like you lose focus in life, finding someone to share your life with, even if Warner had already found and lost the love of his life. Only Taddy doesn't know what love is because that is something that her parents never showed her or even told her. She had her friends, and to her, that is all the family she needed. These were the people she loved and she knew they loved her back.

Then during a trip with her friends, she finds this hunk of a man and believes he is her secret NFL player crush. That night as "Red" she meets someone by the name of "Garner" and she is enthralled with him as he is with her. Taddy is not one to lose control of her emotions but there is something about this man that makes her just want to give him control.

Taddy is a woman that gives the orders around in the bedroom and tells the man what she wants but things are a little different with Warner. She is one that loves the rough play and the smacking, but I'm not saying that Warner is not a dominant man as he is a take-charge kind of guy in his own way. He is a dirty talker during sex, which I love, while Taddy is not one to talk but she eventually learns. Taddy is a very sexual person, just about anywhere she finds a place to get off. Just reading her way of releasing pent up sexual frustration left me a little breathless, then when Warner came into the picture it was like holy moley mother of yeah, especially with a man hung as Ms Aster vividly described. **Thank you Ms Aster!!** Talk about needing to find a Warner of my own and say "all mine, don't touch." The sex scenes are explicitly detailed, which I loved, with a delicious foreplay, and some anal play. Taddy and Warner are hot together; they totally brunt the sheets and then some.

UNSCRUPULOUS is an entertaining, fun, hilarious, but also sad read. I do have to say that this is my first read by Ms Aster, but believe me this will not be my last and I will say that this novel will be staying in my library to be reread again in the near future. I just picked up Undressed, the first in this series, and I know that if I fell in love with her writing style in this novel, I know that I'm going to totally love Undressed.

All of the characters in this story were compelling and well-developed. I loved how Warner became Taddy's rock when she needed him the most and that she actually leaned on him. The storyline was well-written and it flowed easily and kept me entertained with lots of drama and hot sexy erotic scenes. I also loved how detailed all of her major scenes were when Taddy ventured out to different countries or even different places it felt like I could actually see it, like I was also part of the story. I love when I'm reading and I feel connected to characters and what they are going through and what they are doing.

This is totally a must read for any time of the year. This will perk you right up and bring a laugh or two or three out of you. I can't wait to read Undressed, the first of this series. This novel is pure brilliance and a great journey for two wonderful characters, Taddy and Warner. I so totally recommend this novel.
Was this review helpful to you?   

Book Review by Delta (reviewer)
Feb 02, 2016   [ OFFICIAL REVIEW ]
82 people found the following review helpful
It's Sex and the City meets Days of Our Lives, and I couldn't get enough!

Growing up in a prominent family with parents who liked to enact War of the Roses-esque scenes on one another, Tabitha Brillford (aka "Taddy Brill") didn't exactly have the best role models when it came to love and family. But she toughened up, emancipated herself and created PR firm Brill, Inc. her junior year in college.

At just 33, hotel mogul and 3rd wealthiest man on the planet Warner Truman is used to women trying to leech onto him in hopes of earning a big ass diamond and a divorce. Never again. Next time he falls for a woman, she'll be wealthy herself!

The two meet on the island of St. Barth, and sparks immediately fly between them, but a misunderstanding has her washing her hands off her "Big Daddy" before she could even see if he was big all over. Reconnecting in Cannes, they're instantly smitten with one another, tearing up the sheets as fast and furious as possible. Terrified to let Warner in, Taddy does everything she can to try to push him away. But Warner's not giving up; he knows Taddy is something special and he's willing to work hard to make sure she doesn't get away again.

UNSCRUPULOUS is the first book in the delish and dirty The Manhattanites series, and WOW is it a whopper (since we're going with the Candy Land theme here)! This book is funny, raunchy, irreverent…and did I mention raunchy? Taddy and her BFF's Lex, Vive and Blake rule Manhattan society with their lavish parties, business deals, famous families and even their generosity. Taddy's compulsive orgasms and high sex drive was perfectly suited to Warner's been-too-long sexual needs, and their alpha power exchange was just yummy!!

I loved Big Daddy; he wasn't this gazillionaire manwhore. He adored his deceased wife with everything he had, stays to himself and out of the public eye while building his empire, so when he finds Taddy and realizes she's his perfect match in almost every way, he pursues her with single minded focus. Taddy was bold and brash and slightly obnoxious, but in a weirdly endearing way. One of my favorite supporting characters was Kiki though; the Mormon virgin with a boob job fascinated me. I can't wait to read the next book up in The Manhattanites series, Undressed, featuring Lex's story!

Bottom Line: A wild, crazy, sexy and funny look into the bedrooms and boardrooms of Manhattan's elite. If you haven't already picked this one up, what're you waiting for!?!
Was this review helpful to you?   
Follow The Romance Reviews
Send us an email: carole @ theromancereviews.com
Ⓒ 2010 - 2018 The Romance Reviews. All rights reserved.
October 20, 2018 03:36 PM ( EST )