Prymal Lust

Jianne Carlo
Prymal Lust
Click the button for the HTML codes


TOP PICKS


Publisher
Hartwood Publishing
Release Date
August 2014
Series
Book 1 of Prymal
Genre
Action/Adventure Romance, Contemporary Romance, Erotic Romance, Paranormal Romance, Romantic Suspense/Mystery

SUMMARY
The primal call of Mate Claim sparks a battle among the three species of shifters—Wylfen, Feral, & Rogue—and has for generations. These violent feuds incite hunts by humankind, driving shifters near extinction. To protect their people the aristocratic Wylfen ban the practice of Mate Claim. When a Rogue alpha claims a Wylfen female, the mated pair forms a coalition with a Feral male. An alliance is created: Prymal, a new species & pack born of Rogue, Wylfen, & Feral. And war begins…

Tania, a Wylfen aristocrat, hooks up with a stranger right before her twin's graduation from military college. Hours later, the bottom drops out of her world when she's introduced to Axe, her twin's new SEAL instructor. Then she discovers he's a Feral Wolf, the archenemy of her people. Wylfen laws prohibit her from mating with a half-breed. If anyone finds out she's mated with Axe, exile is the least she has to fear…

Book Review by Isabelle (reviewer)
Sep 09, 2014   [ OFFICIAL REVIEW ]
137 people found the following review helpful
They are alpha males, wolf-shifters and navy Seals. They are hot, dangerous and ready to love the-only-one. PRYMAL LUST is a steamy ride full of pheromones and adrenaline.

Tania is a Wylfen wolf, which means she is an aristocrat and belong to the top tier of the wolves world. However, her feelings lately are the same of every other wolf on the planet: she needs to get down, sweaty and dirty on a bed with a willing male; anyone but a wolf will do.

Axe is on a mission; he can't have any distraction right now. Of course he has no idea that his hormones and the mating call will show up when he is in the middle of an explosive situation.

Can their mating works? They only have to bring down a corrupted government, battle their instincts against century-old-prejudice and begin a new species.

Ms. Carlo creates another promising paranormal series, bringing fresh ideas in a very creative well-crafted plot.

The characters are amazing, with a kick-ass heroine and a to-die-for hero. Really, Axe is the alpha of the alphas. He is dominant when he must be, but he is comfortable enough with himself to let his female shine.

The passionate scenes are well-described without being excessive, and they permeate the story without taking away from the plot's flow.

Wow, have I mentioned this book is packed with action and heat? It took me two hours to devour the story and I've finished without knowing whom do I want to meet next. Really there are so many amazing secondary characters that I don't know which one is my favorite. All I know is that I'm ready to read the next Prymal today!
Was this review helpful to you?   

BOOK INTERVIEW on August 2014
Contest extended to September 30, 2014.

BOOK INTERVIEW on August 2014
Interview by Laura

Hi Jianne, welcome once again to The Romance Reviews! You have a new series! How exciting!


Q: Please tell us more about the PRYMAL series. What is your inspiration for this series?

A nightmare *nodding convincingly*—cross my heart, yada, yada.

Ever have one of those awful dreams where you're trapped that repeats and repeats no matter how hard you try to change the ending or wake up? I had been reading three genres at once: a Regency, a shifter, and a SEAL suspense.

Gaw, right? Why would anyone do that to themselves?

I was a judge in a contest. After reading each entry several times, I went to sleep, and had a dream about a pure-bred aristocrat, a shifter SEAL, and a Nazi-like plot to eliminate half-breeds from the planet. PRYMAL was born.

[Interviewer's note: I wish my dreams were all this productive!]

Here's the premise of the PRYMAL world:

The primal call of Mate Claim sparks battle among the three species of shifters—Wylfen, Feral, and Rogue—and has for generations. These violent feuds incite hunts by humankind, driving shifters near extinction.

To protect their people the aristocratic Wylfen ban the practice of Mate Claim. The Senior Council now decides all mate alliances to protect their pure blood and promote the politically premier families.

Feral and Rogue shifters still practice the primitive ritual. The Feral shifters are half-breed humans, while the Rogue shifters share two sets of animal DNA, big cat and wolf, as well as human.

Both are considered the basest of beasts in the eyes of the Wylfen. Secret schemes to eradicate the Feral and Rogue are put into motion, backed by Wylfen wealth and power. Their success leaves less than a hundred Feral and Rogue shifters on the planet.

When a Rogue alpha claims a Wylfen female, the mated pair forms a coalition with a Feral male. An alliance is created: Prymal, a new species and pack born of Rogue, Wylfen, and Feral, fracturing all established traditions.

And war begins…

Q: What draws you to the paranormal genre? And to SEALs?

OMG--you have to ask? About what draws any red-blooded female to *drool* SEALs? I am obsessed with warriors--gladiators, knights, Vikings--and SEALs are our ultimate contemporary warrior.

I love the paranormal genre, because there are no limitations. It's your own world, you make the rules (us short women tend to be Napoleonic). Even better for me is blending more than one world into ours of today.

Q: What kind of research did you do in the course of writing or plotting this series?

The Wylfen family in Prymal Lust is from Russia, so I did a ton of research on Russian aristocracy, particularly their elaborate formal customs and intricate rules of behaviour.

Q: Who is Tania? Please tell us more about her. What makes her hook up with a stranger?

Tania's never belonged.

All Wylfen females are petite, delicate, have perfectly symmetrical features, and groomed to be subservient from birth.

Tania's five seven, athletic, strong, wilful, and she has mismatched eyes, one green, one brown, which makes her imperfect in the perfect Wylfen world.

Why Tania hooks up with Axe is part of Prymal Lust's unfolding mystery, so I'll leave that question unanswered *wink, wink*

Q: Can' wait! Now, who is Axe? What makes him a swoon-worthy hero in this first book in the series?

Axe is a physically scarred alpha Feral who learned how to tame his inner beast while in the Teams. Only his SEAL discipline and rigid control allows Axe to overcome his inbred hostility to the Rogues and recognize the Wylfen might be the source of all conflict in the shifter world. He's a visionary and a pioneer. Yet, because half of his face has been disfigured through torture, he refuses to believe there's any chance of happiness for him and Tania, because she's Wylfen and the Wylfen value perfection above all.

Q: Sounds like the kind of angst that I love! Their first meeting results in the hook up, but it's the second meeting that's intriguing! This is when she found out that Axe is her brother's new SEAL instructor. What was that meeting like?

Why don't you see for yourself? Read on:

Jaz cut in between Mishe and Tania. He turned, half-backing her, and she caught a glimpse of a man in naval uniform. He had a white cap emblazoned with a silver eagle tucked against his side.

"Senior Chief Johnson, meet my father, Arman Prakov, my mother, Orlenda Prakov." Tania scooted around Mishe and peered at the striking man standing beside Jaz.

A drop-dead walking testosterone hunk. His broad shoulders, wide-legged military stance, and spine board-stiff posture, seemed vaguely familiar.

Heat scaled her throat when she visualized the massive, powerful back of her gym lover. For long moments all she could see, feel, and smell was the fragrant steam in the shower stall coating her skin while he hammered into her. Flustered, she stared unseeing at the medals above the man's left pocket.

"Pleasure to meet you both." Senior Chief Johnson shook hands with first her father and then her mother.

"Senior Chief Johnson is the lead trainer for BUD/S Class Three Twenty-one. I was assigned to the class two weeks ago." Jaz made the announcement in such a blasé tone that, at first, the meaning of what he'd said didn't penetrate Tania's gray matter.

Her jaw dropped. She snapped her teeth together so hard they squeaked. Omigod. Jaz had signed up for SEAL training. The Senior Council agreed to allow Jaz to enlist in the Navy, but she knew they'd stipulated Jaz would specialize in information systems and request desk duty. Even she knew SEALs engaged in combat. Lethal combat too.

Dad's complexion turned a painful red. At any point, Tania expected to hear him roar.

"I'm certain there's been some sort of mistake. The Navy can't force you to be a SEAL. This is not what the Senior--what was agreed upon." Arman folded his arms and wolf-stared the senior chief.

"No mistake, Dad. Contracts are signed. I leave for Coronado in the morning."

"Problem, Jaz?" Another man in uniform emerged from behind the senior chief.

That voice.

It couldn't be.

She craned her neck and met her gym lover's contemptuous glare.

Tania's knees wobbled.

She grabbed Mishe's arm.

"Negative, Senior Chief. A slight misunderstanding. Easily remedied." Jaz addressed his answer to the man who'd screwed Tania into a dazed trance not five hours ago. "Senior Chief Smith. This is…"

Q: What is a romantic moment like between them?

Enjoy this excerpt!

"You know. I never thought I'd feel this way. I can't wait to marry you." She frowned and drew a figure eight on his chest. "Before I forget to tell you yet again, you should know that Mishe slipped me his cell phone in the Wal-Mart parking lot. He texted me this morning to make sure I was ok."

He didn't seem the least bit surprised. "I know."

"And just how do you know that?" The man could be so damned irritating.

"Who do you think programmed the cell so you and your family communicating wouldn't be detected?" He twirled a strand of her hair around his forefinger.

"Duh-uh. Of course, Jaz. I should've known that. Axe?" She stalled trying to find the right words.

"Tania," he replied in a teasing tone.

"You know that I've come to really, really like all the Prymal alphas and Eve and Dax."

"But?" he prompted

"I'm not asking because I don't want them around, but is the pack going to live with us from now on?"

He shook his head. "No way. We're making arrangements for Dax and Eva to buy the ring of land bordering Lycus's and our properties at the bottom of the canyon. Right now, we're discussing building log cabins around the periphery of the lake. Until each Prymal member mates, he or she can live in the cabin of their choice."

A relieved sigh escaped Tania's lips. "Thank gawd. You do realize that we have a tendency to be kind of, ah, loud, during?"

Axe's belly shook with laughter. His guffaws echoed around the room. "You're going to be the death of me in more ways than one. How is it that you can be blatant about a blow job, but blush and duck your chin when talking about you screaming my name when you come?"

She poked him. "It's leftover Decorum, Discipline, and Deportment training. Don't worry. I'm working hard to shed every rule drummed into me. Axe, we're going to need a nursery room soon."

His eyes narrowed. "It is a four bedroom house."

"But all the bedrooms are on the other side of the house. I know we can use baby alarms and stuff like that, but I think I'd like our baby nearer." Tania had a sickening feeling she was going to be an overprotective mother.

He grinned and flicked her nose. "Remember the shower in the penthouse suite?"

"The shower? What on earth does a shower have to do with a nursery?" The man had lost his marbles.

"I'd planned on duplicating it. We can enlarge the bathroom and add on another room on the other side. That work for you?"

"That shower must cost a ton." She bit her lip. Was now the time to bring up finances? How on this planet had Axe been able not only to buy the ranch, which had a huge acreage, but also build the underground shelter on a military salary?

Q: In the entire series, which character is the most difficult for you to write? Why?

Since I haven't finished the entire series as yet, I honestly don't know.

Q: What is the most difficult scene or thing that you had to write in the entire series?

The End. You're laughing, but it's true. I hate writing that final book. It's like saying goodbye to good friends forever.

Q: What is one of the themes that you tackled in this series? What significance does the theme have for you?

Learned prejudice, multiculturalism, human trafficking, and abused females are major themes for the Prymal Series. The Wylfen, Feral, and Rogues have all been taught to hate each other by means of vicious stereotyping. It saddens me that people today still retain much of the blatant typecasting of centuries ago.

I love to explore cultural clashes (my tag line--cultures collide, passions ignite), probably because I'm the product of two generations of different cultures and races. My grandparents on both sides were immigrants who ended up in the Caribbean and South America. My father was the son of a Portuguese plantation owner and one of his four mistresses, a woman from India who was his indentured servant. It still amazes me that, to all ends, my grandmother was owned by my grandfather.

Q: What's up next in the Prymal series? Please give us a sneak peek!

Prymal Obsession – Release October 2, 2014

Brut Jurango's pack is one of butt-ugly misfits, and he's devoted to each and every member. When his mate and his entire pack's slaughtered, he lives for one sole purpose–revenge. Brut's a mixed breed, wolf, panther, and human. He had a mate, and shifters are supposed to have only one in a lifetime. So why can't he resist Sidonie Walker's call? Or is this just one more lie proliferated by the Wylfen?

Q: What's up next for you?

Two more PRYMAL as follows:

Prymal Passion – Release December 4, 2014

Bandit Jackson's a Rogue wolf who lives for the moment. He makes out like a bandit in all walks of life. No commitments, no strings, tons of women, wine, and eclectic Gourmet food. The last thing he needs is a battered wife on the run with a toddler.

Prymal Hunger – Release February 5, 2015

The Kydd, aka Kydd Kolton, leads a charmed life. A Rogue wolf and retired UFC fighter, he's parlayed his toned bod and surfer good looks into an acting career. Rich, famous, handsomer than sin, the Kydd's never had to lift more than a pinky or a perfect brow to snare a woman. Until he meets Helle, a human female, whose sole purpose in life is to torture him.


Wow, exciting! That's a lot of books to look forward to! Thanks for being here to give us all these insights into the series.


Check out the video of PRYMAL LUST!


Bio:

Award winning author, Jianne Carlo's motto is simple: Alpha Me Please.

While strong heroines, exotic locations, and cultural differences are her forte, she goes weak in the knees for warriors and alphas. Send her a man with an attitude and she'll find the right woman to tame him.

Jianne loves hot and spicy food, stomach-plunging park rides, and is kept on her toes by her Viking husband of thirty-five years, and three, handsome grown sons. There's nothing she likes more than hearing from readers.

Email: Jianne@jiannecarlo.com
Website: http://www.jiannecarlo.com/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Jianne123
Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/jiannecarlo
Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/jiannecarlo/
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/2508742.Jianne_Carlo


Backlist:

That Pearly Drop

Death Blow

Alpha Me Not


The Dragon Slayer

Manacled in Monaco



GIVEAWAY!!!

Jianne is giving away an ebook of PRYMAL LUST! Thanks, Jianne!


ADDITIONAL GIVEAWAY!!!

TRR is sponsoring a prize! For each comment on the interviews below, you get one additional chance to win $10 Amazon Gift Certificate!

PRYMAL LUST by Jianne Carlo
IVY by Dahlia Donovan



Mechanics:

Simply write a comment or a question in the comment box below to be entered into the giveaways!

Contest ends August 31, 2014.
Follow The Romance Reviews
Send us an email: carole @ theromancereviews.com
Ⓒ 2010 - 2017 The Romance Reviews. All rights reserved.
December 13, 2017 09:15 PM ( EST )