That Chesapeake Summer

Mariah Stewart
That Chesapeake Summer
Click the button for the HTML codes


TOP PICKS


Publisher
Pocket Books
Release Date
June 2015
ISBN
9781476792576
Series
Book 9 of Chesapeake Diaries
Genre
Chick-lit, Contemporary Romance

SUMMARY
From New York Times bestselling author Mariah Stewart comes the latest book in her celebrated Chesapeake Diaries, a small-town romance series in the tradition of Barbara Freethy, Susan Mallery, and Robyn Carr.

Jamie Valentine is the wildly successful author of self-help books advocating transparency in every relationship. But when her widowed mother passes away unexpectedly, Jamie discovers her own life has been based on a lie. Angry and deeply betrayed, she sets out to find the truth—which may be in a small town on the Chesapeake Bay. Cutting her most recent book tour short, Jamie books a room at the Inn at Sinclair's Point, just outside St. Dennis.

The death of Daniel Sinclair's father forced him to take over the family inn, and his wife's death left him a single parent of two children, so there's little room for anything else in his life. His lovely new guest is intriguing, though, and he's curious about the secret she's clearly hiding. But in the end, Jamie and Dan could discover the greatest truth of all: that the search for one thing just might lead to the find of a lifetime—if you keep your heart open.
Show less

Book Review by Delta (reviewer)
May 08, 2015   [ OFFICIAL REVIEW ]
99 people found the following review helpful
Death refuses to bring closure to the characters in THAT CHESAPEAKE SUMMER.

After author Jamie Valentine's mother passes away and Jamie learns that she was adopted, she goes on the hunt for her birth mother. Jamie's search leads her to St. Dennis, MD, the heart of the Chesapeake. It also brings her to Daniel Sinclair, the owner of the Inn at Sinclair's Point. The Sinclair family has their hands in everything in St. Dennis and Jamie knows they could be the ones to help her find her birth mother. Despite the awkward way they met and the immediate tension they felt, Jamie and Dan have the kind of chemistry that comes along once in a lifetime. But Dan knows that Jamie is hiding something and he's determined to figure out what it is. Neither of them expected to find love in the process.

THAT CHESAPEAKE SUMMER is the 9th offering in The Chesapeake Diaries series and the first one I've read. To be fair, I like my romance books with some...romance. Perhaps a bit more than a sweet kiss or some hand-holding. I liked the family aspect of THAT CHESAPEAKE SUMMER, and certainly the descriptions of the Chesapeake Bay area were outstanding, however I found the overall story very long-winded and inane. I actually did not care how Jamie went from store to store on her first day, what kind of ice cream she decided on (TOUGH choice there, folks), her desire for an iced coffee, how she read alone in her room...ENOUGH! At close to 400 pages, I couldn't take anymore meaningless crap. Get to the story already.

As plots go, it had a lot of potential, but it was very slow moving and terribly anticlimactic, plus Dan's character was a real asshat for most of the book. I cried shenanigans when he waxed poetic about how he knew she was special right away...dude was downright douchey for the majority of this story. With his attitude and her non-exciting personality, it took effort for me to remain coherent while reading.

Bottom Line: If you like sweet, chaste and family-oriented novels, this may be right up your alley. For this reader, it simply wasn't my cuppa.
Was this review helpful to you?   
Follow The Romance Reviews
Send us an email: carole @ theromancereviews.com
Ⓒ 2010 - 2018 The Romance Reviews. All rights reserved.
May 24, 2018 08:10 AM ( EST )