The Mistake

Elle Kennedy
The Mistake
Click the button for the HTML codes


TOP PICKS


Publisher
Elle Kennedy
Release Date
May 2015
ISBN
9781511660662
Series
Book 2 of Off-Campus
Genre
Contemporary Romance

SUMMARY
He's a player in more ways than one...

College junior John Logan can get any girl he wants. For this hockey star, life is a parade of parties and hook-ups, but behind his killer grins and easygoing charm, he hides growing despair about the dead-end road he'll be forced to walk after graduation. A sexy encounter with freshman Grace Ivers is just the distraction he needs, but when a thoughtless mistake pushes her away, Logan plans to spend his final year proving to her that he's worth a second chance.

Now he's going to need to up his game...

After a less than stellar freshman year, Grace is back at Briar University, older, wiser, and so over the arrogant hockey player she nearly handed her V-card to. She's not a charity case, and she's not the quiet butterfly she was when they first hooked up. If Logan expects her to roll over and beg like all his other puck bunnies, he can think again. He wants her back? He'll have to work for it. This time around, she'll be the one in the driver's seat...and she plans on driving him wild.

Book Review by Ashia (reviewer)
Feb 05, 2016   [ OFFICIAL REVIEW ]
139 people found the following review helpful
I can't get enough of Elle Kennedy's hockey heroes!

Grace Ivers had a hook-up with John Logan in her freshman year, but after being told that she was merely a distraction from the woman who Logan was interested in, she determined to be wiser in her sophomore year. And resistant to Logan's persistent requests for a second chance...until she comes up with a wild idea. He wants her back? Well, he'll have to work for it.

Grace is a great heroine because she made Logan work for the chance to have another date with her. I thoroughly enjoyed the things she made him do; there were some laugh-out-loud moments there. Logan deserves to grovel for the hurt he's done to her, and in the end, even I have to agree that he deserves a second chance. And the grand gesture--totally love it.

Logan: Clearly he grasps what you refuse to see.

Grace: Yeah, and what's that?

Logan: That you and I are perfect for each other.

In some stories, the hero and heroine sort of fell into the relationship together, but what I like here is that Logan made a conscious decision to win Grace back. He decides that he wants her in his life, not as a puck bunny, but as someone he could have a long-term, loving relationship with, like Garrett and Hannah, and he was willing to work for it. I also like the portrayal of the friendship between Garrett and Logan, how Garrett made him see the other side of the situation, that instead of dreading the end of the year, where he'll have to go to work in his father's garage, he has this one year to enjoy his friends, hockey and make things right with the girl who has caught his eye.

THE MISTAKE is a wonderful addition to the Off-Campus series, and readers who loved Garrett and Hannah will also be able to see them here. Don't miss this!
Was this review helpful to you?   
Follow The Romance Reviews
Send us an email: carole @ theromancereviews.com
Ⓒ 2010 - 2018 The Romance Reviews. All rights reserved.
July 22, 2018 01:43 AM ( EST )