Never Let You Go

Monica Murphy
Never Let You Go
Click the button for the HTML codes


TOP PICKS


Publisher
Ballantine
Release Date
May 2016
Series
Book 2 of Never Tear Us Apart
Genre
Contemporary Romance

SUMMARY
Perfect for readers of Colleen Hoover, Jay Crownover, and K. A. Tucker, the second novel in this darkly sexy contemporary series from bestselling author Monica Murphy wraps up an emotionally powerful two-part tale of forbidden love.

The truth hurts, they say—and my pain cuts deep. While I was falling for Ethan, he was deceiving me the entire time. He held a huge secret, protected by his lies. When I discovered what he was hiding, the truth shook my world, threatening to ruin us forever. Ruin me. But I soon realized that what we share can't be destroyed.

The connection between us is too strong. It always has been. I can't deny him any longer. And I can't deny my truth: I'm in love with Ethan.

I don't want to let him go.

While we're trying our best to make this relationship work, other forces are fighting against us. My family, who wants to keep me safe. The media obsessed with my tragic past. The public that feeds off of it. Even Ethan's father—the man who nearly destroyed me all those years ago. He's doing his best to finish the job.

Despite my love for Ethan, the doubts creep in, clouding my mind. Is he worth the pain? Will our love survive, or will we have no choice but to end it—end us—once and for all?

Book Review by BJ (reviewer)
May 05, 2016   [ OFFICIAL REVIEW ]
97 people found the following review helpful
4.5 "Lovers Forged by Tragedy" Stars!

Two victims. A love forged out of tragedy. A connection that could never be denied. Now if only the outside world could just agree and leave them alone. But is that ever truly a possibility?

Please note that NEVER LET YOU GO is the conclusion to the story that began in the Never Tear Us Apart, so this series must be read in chronological order. The below review contains spoilers for the first book. If you haven't yet read Never Tear Us Apart, please see my review for that title.

NEVER LET YOU GO picks up where Never Tear Us Apart leaves off. Katie has just found out the big secret that her boyfriend, Ethan, the man she believed to have been falling in love with, is actually Will, the boy who saved her all those years ago from the brutal and savage man (Will's father) who abducted and repeatedly raped her when she was only 12 years old. He would have killed her too, but for Will.

Though she always thought of Will as her savior, and still believes that she owes her life to him, she feels betrayed even worse than before. She trusted Will and the man she felt a renewed sense of safety with, Ethan. The fact that they are one in the same, and she never suspected it, only causes her to question her own already fragile state of mind following years of counseling to recover from the horrific kidnapping. Was Will just playing with her this entire time?

Will, who now refuses to be called by that name, has formed his own new identity and longs to just leave the old one behind. Even though he saved her, and he was victimized by the same man, his father, society never seemed to accept his innocence, instead longing for the next big juicy gossip filled story.

As if contending with the press, including one very determined, overzealous reporter, Lisa, who is determined to get to the "real story" in a live interview, and a society who sees them as wrong is not enough, Katie must also fend off her own feelings of doubt and her family's insistence that they will disown her if she continues any sort of relationship with Will.

Can there possibly be a HEA in the cards for a couple under such large odds?

I will say that the only reason I didn't give this book a 5 star rating, is because Aaron (Will's father), who now is sitting on death row (not just for what he did to Katie, but also because of other little girls he murdered) also plays a part in this book. In fact a few of the chapters are written from Aaron's warped point of view. While the ever present danger of the clearly insane Aaron provided some heightened sense of suspense to the book, the way the plot evolved around his character at the end of the book, was just a little too unbelievable for me to accept.

Nonetheless, I view this as primarily being a story about Will and Katie, and in that respect the connection between these two lost souls--and the fact that they seem to be the only two people in the world who truly understand each other--really resonated with me. This tie, and the way Ms. Murphy wrote this aspect of the story, kept me glued to my Kindle and rooting for them to surge on and hopefully persevere over all the doubts and other obstacles to find their HEA.
Was this review helpful to you?   
Follow The Romance Reviews
Send us an email: carole @ theromancereviews.com
Ⓒ 2010 - 2018 The Romance Reviews. All rights reserved.
August 16, 2018 12:37 PM ( EST )