The Lost Codex

Heather Lyons
The Lost Codex
Click the button for the HTML codes


Cerulean Books
Release Date
November 2016
Book 4 of The Collectors' Society
Fantasy Romance

Allies, once inseparable, splinter until they break apart.
An insidiousness carves its way through Wonderland, challenging the land's very existence.
Battle lines will be drawn as pages, long languishing in darkness, are finally illuminated.
Swords will clash, blood will be spilled, and lives will be lost.
For what is written can still be erased.

Book Review by Delta (reviewer)
Nov 17, 2016   [ OFFICIAL REVIEW ]
100 people found the following review helpful
I want more!!!!

Alice Liddell can't remember her past. Set to marry Jace, the White King, in Wonderland, she can't help but think that it feels WRONG. He's not the one she's supposed to be with. He's not the one who she dreams of. But she has no idea who is. Her heart finally remembers Finn Van Brunt, the man she loves desperately, and she knows she must return to him somehow. But the Piper, the 13th witch and their Chosen are relentless in their determination to eradicate Timelines and the members of the Collection Society who seek to protect them. This story takes you from Grimm's Germany to modern day NYC and back to Wonderland as Alice, Finn and their crew struggle against the holds of a most devious enemy.

I'm not much for the fantasy genre overall, but Ms. Lyon's Collector's Society series are some of my favorites books of all time! As a lifelong Alice in Wonderland fan, this wild and fantastical take on the classic story totally sucked me in and made me desperate for more. I'm soooo bummed that THE LOST CODEX is the final book in this series, but these are genuinely some of the only books I will re-read in the future…they're THAT good. This can not be read as a standalone, you'll be completely lost and you'd truly do yourself an injustice by not getting the full brilliance that Ms. Lyons has woven. And I'd just like to mention that the FEEL is very much reminiscent of the Lewis Carroll classics, including the weird, wonderful and poignant.

"I am always with you. It is what those who touch lives do, Alice. Hearts are not solid, not really. They are mosaics, cobbled together from pieces we take from life and others. Sometimes, certain pieces fall away. Sometimes, we fill them in with new bits of emotions and life. Sometimes, what is there remains, even if the people we took them from are no longer with us. You see, some pieces are more steadfast than others. Those are the ones that will remain the longest. I am in your heart. You were in mine."

Do yourself a favor and pick this entire series up ASAP. You won't regret it.

Bottom Line: This is a romantic fantasy with a few erotic elements (particularly in Wonderland, where orgies are as common as talking flowers), however it's not gratuitous…it's more a statement on just how bizarre that place is; lots of death and murder (but set in a fairy tale world so it's not overtly horrific); no sexual assault/rape; no condom use (again, fantasy world).
Was this review helpful to you?   
Follow The Romance Reviews
Send us an email: carole @
Ⓒ 2010 - 2018 The Romance Reviews. All rights reserved.
July 17, 2018 09:05 PM ( EST )